Book Reviews, Non-Cozy Book Reviews

Book Review: Americanized: Rebel Without a Green Card

I love memoirs. I especially love memoirs by people of color because the struggles are more relatable (to me) and while I may not understand everything that they go through but there is usually some common ground. I have read other books in this age group and in the beginning of the book this authors voice seems more intended for adults rather than young adults. It can be abrasive at times (and super judgmental of anything different from what she liked or believed). However, there were times when it appeared to soften and I enjoyed that much more. It made me want to continue to read and hear about her life (which wasn’t the case when I feel like I’m being sternly spoken to–that is generally met with a sigh or an eye roll or maybe an expletive).

I love that she loves where she was born and defensive of it but on that same note there seemed to be a lot of bashing of America. While the US is by no means a pillar of the world as far as race relations go (nor has ever been–at any point in the entire history of the US it is a major systemic problem), it makes me as a reader defensive because I was born here (and no that isn’t a shot at the author, she is just as much as an American) but the same way that she felt the need to defend Iran because it was where she was born, against people who feel a certain way about it (which I completely agree makes them ignorant and racist)–it invokes the same feeling in me about the US. I don’t like the low blows, at times that is what it felt like and it was not appreciated. You don’t have to be a fan of the US 110% of the time or even 10% of the time (America does need to do better and to be better to truly represent everyone that is an American regardless of color or religion or status)  but the almost constant disparaging remarks about the US in the first few chapters was a little much. It’s not cool when Americans bash other countries or cultures or religions but it makes you no better than those who are bashing Iran, China, Nigeria, or Mexico if you are doing the same to America. It’s hypocritical.

I didn’t like that everything white was considered American or All-American. Fair-skinned, blonde people were referenced as American but Asians were an exotic race. I get that that is how many white people view everyone else but their ignorance doesn’t make it ok. Let people be uncomfortable with America being anything other than what is considered normal by western beauty standards. It’s not that easy to define regardless of what societal norms (try) to dictate. White does not mean American. European ancestry does not mean American. Just because people associate those with America or have been told to associate those ideologies with America and Americans does not make it so. I’m not white but I am American. There were also alot of generalizations and stereotyping about Americans in the book (some houses already come with a bidet and if they don’t you can purchase them at the store they aren’t contraband, i’ve never in my entire life nor anyone that I know black/white/hispanic eats dinner with milk maybe her friends were just weird, and not all American children talk back to their parents–my mother wasn’t having any of that nor did I have any desire to do so, i had sense, but i think minorities in general are not used to seeing kids talk back to parents). I bring that up because she mentions stereotyping against Iranians and immigrants (both legal and undocumented) but is guilty of it herself against others (very much holier than thou–her, at times, sanctimonious attitude was off-putting but to her credit the entire book did not feel that way or I wouldn’t have bothered finishing it).

I did love the authors humor, witty and self-deprecating. I can’t pretend to understand the difficulty (or stress) of trying to figure out adolescence and where you belong while being in fear of deportation. It didn’t seem fair (and yes I understand there are laws but especially in the case of children who can’t control what their parents do. Children should never have to live with that fear–you can’t kick a child seven or seventeen out of a country that is all they have known or remember or those who came as children but are adults now, it wasn’t something that they chose don’t penalize them nor people in fear for their lives).  I liked reading about her angst filled teenage years (most can relate–I’m a few years younger but reading about her experiences were like reminiscing about my own). I particularly enjoyed her writing about her family. The love she has for her family and that they have for her was evident in the way she spoke about them. Her parents wanting a better life for their children. Her protective and fun older sister. Her caring grandmother. Her sweet younger brother. Her loving extended family. I enjoyed glimpses into their lives. I didn’t like reading about DACA, DAPA, and the 2016 election, not because I was offended–I wasn’t, mainly because it’s a bad hand dealt to a country built on the backs of multiple races and it’s depressing. Although the messages conveyed to readers facing similar experiences in difficult times were ones of hope and that not all was lost. I liked that she considers herself a spork, being able to love and embrace all parts of her. Ms. Saedi is a talented writer. I would read other books written by her.

 

I received an arc of this book from Netgalley.

 

 

 

Leave a comment